Sections About Biography Resume Music Videos Photos Links Contact Home


Happy to report that the first 6 episodes of season one of DEFROST VR SERIES is being featured at The Cannes Film Festival this year.

Special thanks to Sheryl Aronson for doing this wonderful interview with me for The Hollywood 360. The Hollywood 360

I am excited to be composing the music for the reboot of MAD TV on the CW network which premiers Tuesday July 26th at 9 pm after having done its original 14 year run on FOX.  MAD TV REBOOT

Writing all the opening songs for the new ABC concert series Greatest Hits, produced by Grammy Awards producer Ken Ehrlich. GREATEST HITS



Greg O’Connor – Composer/Songwriter

Greg O’Connor has composed scores for over 30 television series and has written over 1000-featured songs for TV, films and commercials. He is a Primetime Emmy winner and a four-time Emmy nominee. He has scored projects in every genre including variety, single camera comedy, multi camera comedy, animation, one hour drama, game show, sketch comedy, award show, stand up, reality, hidden camera, documentary, commercials and virtual reality. Greg most recently wrote all the opening songs for the ABC summer series Greatest Hits, produced by Grammy producer Ken Ehrlich. He also composed all the music for a reboot of Mad TV on the CW and he wrote the theme song for Gay Skit Happens with two members of the Grammy winning vocal group Pentatonix. In the science fiction thriller genre, Greg is currently scoring the virtual reality series Defrost, directed by Randal Kleiser.

He has written 2 Billboard AC Top 20 songs, “The Only One” and “Show Me a Sign”, with collaborator James Pankow for the legendary band Chicago as well as the song “Here With Me” for the Chicago album “Stone of Sisyphus.” Greg produced 5 songs for the Barry Manilow album “The Greatest Songs of the Eighties” as well as Barry’s hit Christmas single “Christmas is Just Around the Corner.”

Greg was the Composer, songwriter and musical director for all 14 seasons of the hit sketch comedy show MAD TV, David Allen Grier’s comedy series Chocolate News, Jeff Foxworthy’s variety show Blue Collar TV and Bob Einstein’s series Super Dave Spike- Tacular. Additionally, he was the musical director and composer for the ABC reality competition series The Next Best Thing. He also composed the underscore for the hidden camera series The Jamie Kennedy Experiment and the ABC Aaron Spelling cop drama 10-8. Early in his career, he wrote the score for the Emmy award winning Ben Stiller Show and The Sunday Comics on FOX.

Greg recently wrote and produced several featured songs for films including the faith based film Hoovey, The Sunday Horse, The Greening of Whitney Brown, The Poker House, Lego: The Adventures of Clutch Powers and the animated Lionsgate movie Foodfight. Greg produced 2 songs for Curb Records artist Kimberley Locke on the Camille soundtrack for Oscar winning producer Al Ruddy.

Greg is the co-owner of a comprehensive music library, Number 1 Trax, that has been used in feature films, TV movies, trailers, award shows, specials and reality shows for CBS, ABC, MTV, Oxygen, the WB, TBS, Discovery, Lifetime, Logo, A&E, Destination America, The Speed Channel and OWN networks among others. Greg has scored many radio and web commercials for well-known brands including Starbucks, Sunkist, Gatorade and Applebee’s.

Greg is a graduate of The University of Notre Dame’s Music School as well as the Scoring for Motion Pictures and Television Program at USC..

Click here to download full biography with credits